Christiane and Andy bonded over their love of sports and travelling

Christiane and Andy first laid eyes on each other at their local hockey club. “Despite knowing each other for four or five years, it was only after a summer of playing hockey together that we started to talk and spend time together,” says Christiane. “We love playing and watching sports and found we both had a sense of adventure and willingness to support each other to achieve our dreams.”

Andy popped the question in 2018. “Andy asked my dad for my hand in marriage which he found very touching,” shares the bride. “My poor ring had been on trips to the Lake District, a road trip around Ireland and numerous summer adventure without me knowing. In September, we went for a picnic on the beach, and he finally asked me to marry him. He managed to film the whole thing on his drone, which was a nice surprise.”

Christiane and Andrew's contacts

Ceremony venue, St Luke Slyne with Hest, www.achurchnearyou.com/church/11646 
Reception venue and catering, Abbey House Hotel, www.abbeyhousehotel.com 
Photographer, Ian Brookes Photography, www.ianbrookesphotography.co.uk 
Videographer, Alex Eyre Wedding Films, www.alexeyreweddings.co.uk 
Bride's dress, accessories and bridesmaids' dresses, Mears Ghyll Bridal Rooms, www.mearsghyll.co.uk 
Hair stylist, Jo and Cass, www.joandcass.com 
Make-up artist, Jo Coole Make-up, www.jocoolemakeup.com 
Groom's suit, Moss Bros, www.mossbros.co.uk 
Cake, The Bakery at No.4, www.thebakeryatnumberfour.co.uk
Flowers at reception venue, Brackens of Bowness, www.brackensofbowness.com 
Flowers at ceremony venue, Robinsons Florists, www.robinsonsflorists.co.uk 
Favours, Grasmere Gingerbread, www.grasmeregingerbread.co.uk 
Transport, People to Places, www.ptpuk.biz 
Stationery, Eaton Cards and Stationery, www.eatonstationery.co.uk 
Entertainment, Plain Folk, www.facebook.com/goodindeedfolk; The Relays, www.wedding-bands.co.uk/acts/the-relays 
Toastmaster
, George Phillips, www.gphillips.co.uk 
DJ, Danny Matthews Entertainment, www.facebook.com/dannymentertainment 
Choir at church, Blackburn Peoples Choir, www.blackburnpeopleschoir.org 
Gin favours, The Lake Distillery, www.lakesdistillery.com 
Crepe Cart, Sweets for my Sweet, www.sweetsformysweet.co.uk

 
Government announcement means we're still waiting for weddings...

Government announcement means we're still waiting for weddings...

After yet another 'pause' on our wedding industry, we now have to wait until the...

 
Discover what makes The University of Manchester such a popular wedding venue

Discover what makes The University of Manchester such a popular wedding venue

The University of Manchester is made up of several properties, all of...

 
Maria and David had a beautiful The Lord of the Rings-themed wedding

Maria and David had a beautiful The Lord of the Rings-themed wedding

Maria and David met in an oh-so modern way, online. "We bonded over our love of...

 
Amanda Williams from Love Invited reveals the latest stationery trends

Amanda Williams from Love Invited reveals the latest stationery trends

When it comes to choosing your wedding stationery, there are lots of options...

Inspiration from our great team of Editors at County Wedding Magazines!

To help you find inspiration for your big day, take a look at what's caught the eye of our editors.

There are literally hundreds of ideas, products and services from wedding suppliers across the UK along with links to their web sites as pointed out by our ever resourceful team.

Take a look at what our Editors Love!